Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Trekking & home next week

Mikko at 4984mI have only about a week left of traveling. I am flying home from Hyderabad on Thursday, next week. I am very happy about going home, even though I still don’t have a flat in Jyvaskyla. I am sure I will find something. On Monday I came back to Kathmandu from the trek I did with my friend Andrei. We were quite fortunate with the weather, although the last couple of days were a little rainy. On the way back we saw a lot of landslides and once we even had to stop to move a couple of big boulders off the road! It was definitely the scariest bus ride of my life (the ride from Jaipur to Delhi is a good runner-up).

I went trekking to Langtang national park, quite close to Kathmandu (only 7-10 hours by bus). I went there together with Andrei and Henrik, whom we met accidentally inOn the bus with chickens Kathmandu and who was also planning to go to Langtang. So why not go together. We rode to the starting point of the trek on the roof of the bus. It was not exactly the most comfortable option but we did it anyway, just for the experience. It was alright at first, I found a comfortable position and the weather was great, but it all changed a little as more people got there and it really changed when they loaded three cages full of chickens up there 😀 Anyway, it was for the experience.

Boys making paper airplanesI was still not feeling 100% OK the night before the trek was about to start, but everything went fine except for some “loose motions” in the stomach during the first couple of days. We had very good weather for the most part of the trek, which is very fortunate considering it is basically rainy season here. Me and Andrei took full advantage of the tea houses alongOur lodge the trekking route, stopping every once in a while to have a cup of tea or a little bite to eat. Henrik, on the other hand, was more concentrated on getting the trek done in good time, and he proved out to be too fast for us. We met in the last stop of the trek when we arrived there and he was already beginning to go back.

I have attached a couple of pictures from the trek here. The rest can be found in the gallery, along with a few pictures from Kathmandu.

I will fly from Kathmandu to Delhi in just a few hours. I have read that it is terribly hot right now in Delhi (as well as in the whole northern India and also Pakistan). The heat wave has killed more than 100 people in India alone. Luckily the forecasts are now Looking at cloudy mountains from Gosainkundpromising a little cooler weather (only (!) 40 in Delhi). In Delhi I will stay with a friend for a couple of days. Then I will fly to Hyderabad, on Saturday or Sunday. I will meet my old friends there and have a bye-bye dinner on Tuesday. Then it is time to pack all the stuff and get on the plane to Finland on June 21.

June 14, 2007 - Posted by | Coming home, Pictures from Nepal

5 Comments »

  1. Heippa Murmeli! I had a very strong feeling of writing to you last week, while having lunch on the Ilokivi terrace all by myself. I guess you didn’t receive my SMS back then, so I’m sending this little hello to your blog. I’m happy to see that you’re doing good, travelling around, and I sure hope to see you back in Jyväskylä very soon! 🙂 Enjoy your last week down there, with those important people and places you’ve got to know. Many sunny and green greentings from here!

    Comment by Maria | June 14, 2007 | Reply

  2. Hello, Maria 🙂 Thanks for the comment. I don’t seem to receive any of the SMS that are sent to me while I don’t have signal. The SMS don’t reach me once I get the signal back.

    But now I am back in Hyderabad! I am staying in my old flat but in a different room. Many friends are traveling this weekend but I will meet them on Monday. Tuesday is a day for bye-bye dinner. Just need to find a good venue for that. Today I will go do some shopping with Julian from Colombia. I also need to check what I have stored in the closet in my old room. There seems to be quite a lot of stuff! And in only a few days I will get all my stuff and head to the airport and come back home 🙂 I am really looking forward to that.

    And, about the quest to find a flat, I just got mail from JYY who said there is a flat free in Kortepohja 🙂 So I might just see you there this summer! 🙂

    Comment by murmeli | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  3. Wellcome back dude! Kylä sua on ootettukin 🙂

    Comment by Hessu | June 17, 2007 | Reply

  4. Heips!

    You have had a great journey, and the pictures are just beautiful. It is nice that you have had the chance to experience India so totally and you have taken the time to write things in here. However, see you around in Jyväskylä very soon!

    Comment by Kati | June 18, 2007 | Reply

  5. Trekking in North India is great of course and full of thrill. But even the Sahyadris are full of thrill in the dry terrain… check out my website for trekking in Sahyadris – Try The Thrill

    Comment by dhruwin | February 18, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

