Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Back from Andaman Islands

Hello! After 10 days without Internet I am here again, at the Central Train station in Chennai, writing my blog, putting new pictures online and reading emails. The Andaman Havelock beachIslands were an experience I was still this morning hoping to last a little longer. On Thursday I found an excellent place for my hammock by the Bay of Bengal, hanging from an old tree branch over white sandy beach, looking at the tide go out slowly. Perfect. And I thought I am not a beach person 🙂 The 10 days I spent there (on the Havelock island) were not exactly enough, so still this morning I was thinking whether to use my place ticket to Chennai or cancel it and get a new one, paying 5000-6000 Rupees more for already expensive plain tickets. I decided to be cheap and not pay up, so I am here now.

The Andamans are definitely a place to chill out and relax and I might go there againSnorkeling trip to South Button someday. What surprised me though was the number of tourists. The first two nights I had to sleep on the floor of a restaurant (50 Rs per night) because there simply was no room. For the third night me and Colin managed to find a tent in Village 7 (the villages on the island are numbered 1-7), next to a beach that has once been voted the best beach in Asia. And truly amazing it really is too!

So the first couple of days we basically just spent finding accommodation. Several people sleep on the beaches in hammocks, by the way, and I actually had one made for 340 Rupees just in case… After we got the accommodation I spent a couple of days snorkeling and riding my bike around the island (there are only two roads though 🙂 and then the last day in the hammock by the beach. I put some pictures from Havelock into the gallery, go check them out!

Tomorrow morning I will arrive in Hyderabad. It has been two months since I was last there, so it is about time I go see what is happening there.

February 10, 2007 - Posted by | Pictures from India, Traveling in India

6 Comments »

  1. nice to hear that you’re having a good time! As Jürgen already said, the Andamans are supposed to be one of the nicest places in India…

    Ah Mikko, could you please do me (or us) a favour? Whenever you pass a Video Store, ask for the Movie “Love Letter” (where Mario, Marcus and Me danced) 🙂
    It would be so cool to see that scene!
    Also: “Boss” – (with Kristine as a stewardess)

    Talk to you soon!

    Comment by Michi | February 11, 2007 | Reply

  2. Andamans sure are a cool place, JJ was right about that! 🙂

    I will try to find out those movies for sure! I will only be in Hyderabad for a couple of days though, so I am not sure if I will have time to look for them here. But once I do, sooner or later, I can post them to Germany if you like 🙂

    Comment by murmeli | February 12, 2007 | Reply

  3. oh man, I just love the pics you have added!!!
    Thanks Mikko for the lovely pics and enjoy travelling!
    Take care my friend! 😀

    Comment by Kirsi | February 16, 2007 | Reply

  4. Hi
    I came across your blog when I was searching for something about hyderabad. I am originally from that state living in USA for a decade.

    I liked your attitude of accepting things in India as they are. Things won’t change easily there. Everything you wrote is very much true about the place. Even with those setbacks, I hope this will be a memorable experience in your life. It will make you appreciate what you have in your life. But I could feel in your posts that you felt the warmth of the people and the country.
    Even your work experience didn’t meet your expectation/the company expectations, you never gave up and prove that you can survive anywhere on this planet earth.
    (You know I read all your postings like a nice novel, started at 7Pm – ended at 10Pm on a friday evening when I was feeling homesick staying here)

    Good luck and best wishes.

    Comment by lakshmi | February 17, 2007 | Reply

  5. Hi Murmeli!
    I LOVE your site 🙂 I am a Telugu from Mangalore and who later made Hyderabad her hometown. I enjoyed reading your posts, and mostly your perspective. The Andaman pix / Goa pix made me homesick, as it reminds me of Mangalore a lot.. Enjoy. BTW you, are on my blogroll 🙂

    Comment by Lakshmi Mareddy | February 23, 2007 | Reply

  6. Yes,you really can chill out on the Andamans and unfortunately there are often a lot of tourists, more and more every year 😦

    Comment by Henri | April 15, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

