Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Getting fired, trip to Marallapuram, getting ready for next year

First things first, I kind of got fired from my job yesterday. Fortunately, I was given the permission to come back if I wanted to, so I am back at the office again. Writing my blog, that is. The reason for letting me go was the report I wrote about the company and the traineeships here. The bosses saw it as a disastrous report that contained no constructive feedback. All the trainees read it before I sent it to my boss and they said it is accurate and there should not be any reason not to send it forward.

I can understand that about some issues the company can not do anything, but some things my boss ignored completely, which I did not like. I do not want to tell about the report here in detail, because it is not meant to be public. Maybe I have already said too much, I am not sure. Still, I do not regret writing the report and sending it. We discussed the report in a meeting yesterday with all the trainees and our boss. We also talked about my situation and the conditions in the company. We came to the conclusion that we need more communication and regular meetings between the trainees and the management. One of the trainees will also be assigned responsible for getting the trainees and the management around the same table to a meeting and for being a kind of a spokes person for the trainees. So I actually feel that we accomplished something.

 

I did not feel too good about the goodbye the big boss gave me. Might be that I shed a few tears too. I have not been fired before. The other trainees were there to support me though, especially Tobias and Angela, for which I am very grateful to them.

 

Last weekend we traveled to Marallapuram, a touristy beach town two hours south of Chennai. The beach was good, but the sea too wild for swimming. The small town was swarming with foreign tourists (and it is not even high season yet) but we still managed to get really nice rooms for about 100 Rupees per person per night. All the restaurants had sea food and western cuisine on their menus, which they had written out on big chalk boards on the street outside their restaurants. During the weekend I ate fish, beef and pasta, which are real treats for us and an essential part of weekend trips. The weather was great on Saturday but Sunday was very rainy. It did not bother us too much because we spent a lot of time on the beach already on the first day. On Sunday we also celebrated Yusuf’s birthday, which was cool.

 

I have been spending a lot of time with my girlfriend lately so I have been absent from Messenger for a long time. I managed finally today to upload my pictures from Mysore and also Marallapuram to the gallery. Go see. Next weekend I will go to Ajanta and Ellora (yes, again) and then the next week is the last week for me in Hyderabad. For Christmas I go with Tobias, Brittany and Johannes to Kerala, where we spend some time in Varkala, perhaps rent a house boat for one night and also go see some wild life in a national park. Then we go up to Goa for New Year. We will be going to Anjuna in the northern part of
Goa. I was there already once during the monsoon in August. I bet the place will have a totally different feeling to it during the peak season of Christmas and New Year. Tobias has booked us rooms at the same hotel in Anjuna where my girlfriend, Pike and Magda are together with 30 trainees from Mumbai. Looks like a party
JI am so happy that we have accommodation there now and I get to spend New Year (which also happens to be my birthday) with my girlfriend and my other friends. After New Year I take a train back to Kerala with my girlfriend and we travel together in the south for two weeks, ending our journey in Bangalore around January 15. After that I will be traveling alone for some months, I am not yet exactly sure for how long. I will be somewhere in the south the whole January, because I will fly from Chennai to Port Blair in Andaman Islands on February 1. After Andaman it is time to go north.

 

I have been trying to get travel insurance for next year but it is a bit tricky. The current best option seems to be 350 Euros (!) for six months. Trekking in the mountains does not cost any extra (mountaineering and other extreme sports would, but I will not be doing those), but traveling in areas like Nepal most likely do. I still have to check.

 

I am planning to have a farewell dinner next Monday. I would like to Little Italy, my favorite restaurant in town. Last week I went to Jubilee Hills for a coffee and a walk with my girlfriend and I realized how little of Hyderabad I have actually seen. I have not visited any of the main sights and I never got around to visiting any of the few parks in the city. I am sure I will miss the place, even though it is by no means my favorite Indian city. More than the place I will miss the people, all the other trainees.

December 12, 2006 - Posted by | Being a trainee, Pictures from India, Traveling in India

2 Comments »

  1. Hello dude!

    Isn’t that weird that you get fired when giving feed back. Well..don’t worry, you did the right thing. It is just unfortunate that sometimes open discussion is not allowed. I bet it really feels sad, but in the end everything turns out just fine.

    But now…just cheer up. 🙂 It seems that you are otherwise having a blast, which is great to hear. I haven’t been around here in your blog a while but I’m catching up. 🙂

    So all the best to you and your girl friend. Very warm (in weather and in mind) season greetings to you guys from the folks back here. We finally got some snow even…though it should be melting..today..if I should trust on the weather forecast. Happy new year also!

    Take care!

    Comment by Hessu | December 20, 2006 | Reply

  2. Greetings from Finland!

    I reached home safely on Friday and yes it feels really good to be here now. I’m having quite a lot of things I have to take care of at the moment so I don’t have time to miss India yet, but I’m sure when things “calm down” I’ll have many moments of missing too. I was lucky with the job and apartment, that makes me very happy, cause I was nervous about coming back home until those things were confirmed.

    I’m sorry to hear about you getting fired 😦 If someone is very polite and considerate that’s you, so I’m sure your feedback was just fine. You should be proud of what you did, cause in my opinion one of the most important things that we can teach Indians is open communication. At some points of my traineeship I got really bored of all that hierarchy and pleasing game playing that we were often supposed to do. So, well done! 🙂

    I wish you a very merry christmas and a new year full of great adventures!

    Comment by Tiina | December 20, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

