Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Trip to Mysore, work, three Hyd weeks left

A lot has happened since I last wrote about Mumbai and the situation at work. The most notable change is that I have a girlfriend now. It has made me extremely happy and now time just flies by here in
Hyderabad 🙂

One week ago I did a trip to Mysore with Eduardo, Yusuf and Stephie. Mysore is a small city of 700 000 people three hours west of Bangalore. People basically go there to see the nice city and the big and grand maharaja’s palace, which is certainly worth visiting. We also went to see the huge market (one of the most colorful in India, I have read) and the Chamundi hill. On Sunday we went to the village of
Srirangapatnam close by and visited a temple, the ghats (river side) and the tomb and the summer palace of Tipu Sultan and his father who once ruled most of Southern India. In the afternoon we still had time to go have lunch/dinner in Bangalore.

Work. Last week I continued the work on the Mikko&Toby co-project. When Tobias came back from traveling on Wednesday we went through the latest requirements and came to the conclusion that it is not possible to implement the project at all with the know-how we currently have and the specifications given by the company. The project was officially put on hold on Thursday by the boss and the project manager. On Friday they were supposed to come up with something for us to do but obviously they did not. I spent the day writing emails and text messages and a traineeship report that I am going to give to AIESEC and the company. On Friday, when we were leaving the office, I told the boss that as you might now, I did not have a very productive day today, as there was nothing to do. I said I hope that on Monday there is again some task for me.

Currently I am not even very motivated to work. I have only three weeks of work left and I do not know what kind of a task I could possibly take on with so little time left. Toby is not doing much either. He is learning Spanish with his self-made vocabulary tester program and the three Columbian trainees.

I have only three weeks left in Hyderabad and then we go on our Christmas and New Year trip. After New Year I begin my big trip. I have not been planning it too much though. The only thing I have done so far is the plane tickets to Andaman Islands in early February. After the trip I am able to go back to
Jyvaskyla and continue working in my old job. But that is still somewhere far ahead.

December 4, 2006 - Posted by | Being a trainee, Traveling in India

5 Comments »

  1. what what what, girlfriend?! I’m extremely happy for you! 😀 Hope the work sitch will improve before end, but can’t believe you’re almost back home already!

    Comment by Tanja | December 4, 2006 | Reply

  2. oops, I really should read your blog more… you might be ending your work there in three weeks, but won’t come beack before summer… well, anyways, time goes fast we know. 😉

    Comment by Tanja | December 4, 2006 | Reply

  3. Tanja dear, you should _always_ read the whole post before writing happy comments or jumping to conclusions.

    But, anyways, thank you for the comment. I am happy too 🙂

    Comment by murmeli | December 4, 2006 | Reply

  4. ho ho ho, greetings from Santa Land!!!
    I’m sending positive thoughts for you to solve your work situation!!! and I’m happy that you have found LOVE so far away from home!!! Sounds great! 🙂
    I’m a bit jealous for all your travelling… I would like to be able to do that now as well… but I understand my time will come later and now it’s your turn to enjoy life! So enjoy your life, my friend! Take care! 😀

    Comment by Kirsi | December 7, 2006 | Reply

  5. Hi Kirsi! Nice to hear from you too!! 🙂

    Yeah, surprising and fun things have been happening, and I am very happy. Work is very much in the background now, other things are more important and more on my mind. Anyway, I have only 10 working days left now. I have a task to do though, but I am feeling very lazy. It is the same with other trainees as well, for some reason.

    I got a Christmas present from home yesterday! 🙂 I was so happy to get it. Hope they get my package too. I am going to wait until Christmas eve to open the present. Then I will be in the south, in Kerala. This will be a Christmas and New Year to remember. I hope you people there in Santa Land feel the same way 🙂

    Comment by murmeli | December 8, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

