Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Postcards

I will be sending a few postcards as well as three parcels to Finland. I consider them Christmas greetings and gifts, even though I have no idea how soon or late they arrive if I send them next week. Anywho, I had to do some selection when deciding who to send something. In the category “potential receivers” I had tons of people, and of those people I had to choose those lucky few who get something. Believe me, if you got into the “potential receivers” group you are already a very good friend of mine. Then if before Christmas you receive something, well… you can consider yourself lucky also 🙂 So please do not send me hatemail for not getting a greeting. I hold you all (you know who you are) very dear and I wish I could send something to everybody.

I have a suggestion for you. When Christmas time comes along, I want to see a lot of comments from all you people in my blog. This is the first time ever in my life that I will be spending Christmas somewhere else than in my childhood home, so I will most likely be very sentimental about it. And perhaps a bit sad too. But all of you can alleviate my homesickness by dropping a line in my blog and wishing me merry Christmas when it is time for that. I promise I will write a counter comment to each comment I get.

Nothing much else going on at the moment. Next weekend we are going to go to Mysore, which is a nice city close to Bangalore. We have RAC (reserved against cancellation) train tickets, so we might have to share beds. No matter. I have started planning what I will do next year. My traineeship will end in January and I am planning to do some traveling after that. The big plan is to go from Kanyakumari (the southernmost tip of India) all the way up to Jammu. In fact there is a train that does this trip: the Himsagar Express cuts through India (3734 kilometers) in a mere 66 hours 🙂 But I am planning to crisscross the country in a more thorough way, which will take 4-6 months. Don’t know exactly how long yet, but I will keep you posted on that, of course. It would be the biggest trip I have ever done and it feels both exciting and intimidating at the same time. But I remember one piece of advice somebody once gave me: you ensure your plans materialize by making them public.

November 19, 2006 - Posted by | Traveling in India, Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. Our dearest Mikko!

    It was really nice to hear from you. We got your Christmas Card couple of days ago so it is good to find that the land mail is working as well as this electric one (atleast we hope?). You can be sure that you will hear from us when the Christmas eve comes!

    We have read your blog at times and noticed that what a marvellous place you can live in (except the pictures from the slums, they gave us way too much to think). There is so many places to see and things to understand. Something else than in Hankasalmi and Jyvaskyla 🙂 It is not suprising at all that you want to make your own way and spend some leisure time travelling across the country. Now you will have a good opportunity to that. If only we could do the same… Do you have any special plans what to see and visit besides that huge train trip to Jammu? The only thing we can do is to hope that you will have good buttock muscles 🙂

    Little consolation to your homesickness and Christmas yearning if you do not know yeat: there is no snow at all and the temparature is between + 2 to 10 Celcius in Finland at the time. Feels like dark and sad Autumn again. Maybe your heifers and cows are still enjoying their stay outside at your home place?

    With caring thoughts!

    Uncle Arto & Pauliina

    P.S. We tried to find out your e-mail address to post this to you personally, but maybe this public blog will do.

    Comment by Arto & Pauliina | December 1, 2006 | Reply

  2. Thanks for the comment. I do not have many special plans beside the Andaman Islands. In January I will be in the south, traveling with a friend first for a couple of weeks and then on my own. Then I go to the islands and then I plan to be somewhere in the north (below Delhi though) in February and March. If I am still traveling from April onwards I will go further north to the Himalayas. So I am not planning to do the long train ride actually. But there will still be a lot of train traveling. One week ago we traveled by train over 1200 kilometers + almost 300 kilometers by bus, in one weekend 🙂

    Hope you get lots of snow for Christmas!

    Comment by murmeli | December 4, 2006 | Reply

  3. ‘Lo again 🙂

    I’m spamming out comments …heh. No really.. I just wanted to THANK you on my own and on the company behalf (not the one in India, but U know the mother ship back here) about your post card. It’s in the Admin Hall Coffee table where everybody have been enjoying reading it.

    Comment by Hessu | December 20, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

