Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Back from holiday, difficult times at work

I’m back from our holiday in Thailand and Malaysia. We said bye bye to Claire in Kuala Lumpur on Monday and flew to Bangkok for one more night before flying back to Hyderabad. Last group picture In Bangkok we indulged ourselves in a steak/beef dinner with a beautiful, fresh salad starter. Sadly Eduardo was not there to enjoy the last night with us, since he came to Bangkok on an earlier flight and we did not meet each other until Tuesday morning. Funnily enough he was actually staying in the same hostel with us but we only found that out the next morning when he came to greet us. He had slipped a note under the door but we accidentally ignored it.

Coco Hut, Ko PhanganAnyways… I’ve put some pictures from the holiday in the gallery. I won’t bother to try to explain each phase of the trip in detail. Instead I’ll let the pictures (and the captions) speak for themselves. It suffices to say that the tripWaterfalls in Kanchanaburi was a success. We had so much fun together. I loved the national park and its waterfalls in Kanchanaburi, the clean metropolis of Kuala Lumpur with its excellent public transportation and nice parks. The islands in Thailand were really cool too.

At home we were surprised to find that we had gotten the new lock for our door, finally! This Saturday we also got the furniture changed, finally. That had been in process for over a month. Nobody really knows anymore the reasons behind changing the furniture, because the new furniture is actually much worse than the old one. We also have less stuff now than before. The beds are less comfortable too.

With respect to work the week was not very good. I have been working on my task for nearly three months now and I have not been satisfied with it for the last two. While I was on holiday a couple of my colleagues were testing it and they came to the conclusion that there is a lot to improve. After this I thought I could either try to make it better or make it all anew. But, feeling frustrated about the whole task, on Friday I went to my bosses and told them that I am not happy with my work. I said the task is actually really complicated and, quite frankly, I don’t feel that I am able to fulfill all the expectations they have set. So, basically, I said I don’t know how to make it any better. I started feeling so awkward at work, staring at the screen for hours and thinking how to come up with better solutions or whether I should start all over again. My flatmate Pike actually encouraged me to go talk to my bosses about the work, and I thank her for that.

I am really disappointed because for one month I was really excited about the work. After that it slowly started getting a bit boring and also the dissatisfaction towards my own work was building up at the same time. Honestly speaking, now I can not understand how I, with three years of practical experience, was able to come up with something so bad. Things like this make you humble, which is a good thing, I think.

On a more happier note, last night me, Kevin and Eduardo went to the Navratri festival. It is a Hindu festival which is celebrated for nine consecutive nights (the name means nine nights). It “honours the divne force which supports the entire universe”. The most interesting part of the festival is the dance with the sticks, in which men and women join a dance circle in which they strike their sticks together while dancing. The name of this dance is dandiya. I got some pictures and video from there. Go see more in the gallery.

Tobias is planning a trip to Delhi, Agra and Varanasi at the end of November. We would do the trip in just five days, flying between Delhi and Hyderabad. I think the schedule is a bit tight, but I might join him anyway. I could go see Tuure in Delhi too. This weekend we stayed here, basically because we did not know about the long weekend (Monday and Tuesday off) on time. Me and Tobias tried to get train tickets to Visakhapatnam on Thursday but the train back was full. Anyways, now we have had time to plan ahead. Next weekend we are going to Hampi (me, Tobias and Kevin) and the weekend after that we spend in Bangalore. There I will be meeting Tiina, who is doing a traineeship in Delhi.

So, after a lot of struggling, this week is turning out OK. I have great travel plans and the situation has cleared up at work. We got a coffee machine that we will take to the office. The coffee is a far cry from Juhlamokka, but it is still better than the liquid from the machine at work.

PS. I have to advertise my friend Tuure’s pictures from his trip to the Himalayas. One of the pictures is truly magnificent. Go check the stories from his blog. There you can also find a link to all the pictures.

October 1, 2006 - Posted by | Being a trainee, Indian life, Pictures from India

5 Comments »

  1. Yay. A new post. So happy now. 😀 Thanks for posting the pics too. I hope it gets better at work now that you’ve talked about the problem. 🙂 HUGS.

    Comment by Tanjuska | October 2, 2006 | Reply

  2. Hellou & greetings from Surat, Gujarat! Finally I had a little of time to visit your site again, my access to internet is so limited.. Yep, we’ll meet at the end of the next week. Nice to have some Finnish speaking company 🙂

    All the best & see you!

    Comment by Tiina | October 3, 2006 | Reply

  3. Hei! Ajattelin minĂ€kin aktivoitua ja kommenttia laittaa(olenhan sentÀÀn sun SN-buddy, krhm :)… Kiva on ollut lueskella tÀÀltĂ€ sun kokemuksista, vĂ€hĂ€n kateellisena tosin tapitan noita reissukuvauksia. Etenkin nyt pimeiden, sateisten ja kylmien pĂ€ivien aikaan olis kieltĂ€mĂ€ttĂ€ kiva olla jossain muualla… Toivottavasti tosiaan sulla selkenee asiat töissĂ€ ja homma lĂ€htee sujumaan entistĂ€ paremmin. Sisulla siitĂ€ selviÀÀ, sanoo ne. EttĂ€ parahinta jatkoa vaan sinne!

    Comment by Leena | October 4, 2006 | Reply

  4. TöissĂ€ menee nyt vĂ€hĂ€n mukavammin. Sain uusia hommia. Mun tiimissĂ€ on kaksi hauskaa ja kovaÀÀnistĂ€ saksalaista 🙂 Viikonloppuna mennÀÀn reissuun Hampin temppelikylÀÀn. Kaikki siellĂ€ kĂ€yneet harkkarit ovat tykĂ€nneet paikasta.

    Ja sitten viikon pÀÀstĂ€ tosiaan Bangaloreen 🙂 VĂ€hĂ€n citylomailua vĂ€lillĂ€!

    Kiitos, Leenallekin, kommentista. HyvĂ€, ettĂ€ olet jaksanut lueskella juttuja. Mulla on muuten tÀÀllĂ€kin mukana se sun kanssa tehty tavoitelappunen. PitÀÀpĂ€ vĂ€lillĂ€ vilkuilla, onko jokin niistĂ€ toteutunut 🙂

    Comment by murmeli | October 5, 2006 | Reply

  5. Nice collection of experiences in Hyderabad. Have you checked this Hyderabad site out?

    Comment by Hyderabad | October 8, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

