Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Post-vacational back-to-work difficulties, partying, travel plans

Last week was a rough one. I was really happy when I was in Goa the previous week. It really was the best thing that has happened to me (so far) here in India. The trip was so relaxing and so much fun, that the readjustment to work on Monday was inevitably difficult.

The company’s policy on giving holidays amazes me. I worked there for five weeks and got one week off for Goa. Now I’m there for three weeks and then I have over two weeks off to go to Thailand (and Malaysia and Singapore). I am not learning anything new in the job, because I am not given any counselling or feedback about the way I have done something. I would like a task that is challenging and a work environment that encourages me to learn new things and gives me constructive feedback. Just out of curiosity, I took a look at what kinds of job offers Microsoft has in Hyderabad. They have lots of open positions with very interesting work descriptions. Anyway, that was just a glimpse into what is out there for software designers. This week I, together with Tobias, had a talk about the work with the boss and it was quite promising. He promised to give all the trainees an overview on the company, the products and the technology. He would also position us into teams so that by the time we come back from Thailand we should start doing some teamwork.

Back to the feelings about last week. It was hard coming back to the city after the countryside that was Goa. Here you don’t really get a moment of silence anywhere, whereas in Goa that was simply a matter of getting a scooter and going to the beach and/or walking into the woods. I miss the Goan food too, because it was such a nice change after all the rice and dosas and other local food.

We went to a party outside Hyderabad on Saturday night. The place was called Treasure Island. It was basically a house in the countryside with a big nice park in the backyard with a swimming pool (so I heard from the others). The night club was on the second floor. The dance floor was in the middle and in the back there was a big space reserved for chilling out and regaining energy for another trip to the dance floor. There were really nice cushion chairs and sofas and you could also get some food there. From the back you could also look into the garden and since the sides were open without any glass windows there was a nice comforting breeze cooling you down. The place was decorated with aquariums. There were lots of trainees there, maybe 50, and some local AIESECcers, and we all got a bus from the city to the place and then back at 4 AM. Entrance did not cost anything for us but drinks were really expensive. A half a bottle of beer (300ml) cost 100 Rupees. I was on a water diet the whole night apart from a few sips of beer from others, since my stomach had not been well since Friday. Already half a glass of Kingfisher got my stomach aching really bad. Luckily I feel better now.

I borrowed some traveling magazines from the downstairs flat a few weeks ago. I’m really thrilled about northern India. I’ve heard so much about it from trainees who have been there. I think I would truly love that place. It is funny how I was first a bit disappointed at Goa when I saw how dirty it was there. There is no waste management, basically, which means that, for example, the guest house owner takes empty water bottles from the room and throws them behind the room onto the big pile of bottles. Don’t know when or how or where they go from there. I read a comment by an Indian traveller in one of the travel magazines related to their story on the city of Leh in Jammu & Kashmir in the north. In the story they told about the ever-increasing number of tourists in that area and the stress it poses on the region that does not have adequate infrastructure to support the hordes of travellers. In his comment to the magazine this one reader told about the consistent shortage of drinking water, boring, ugly and out-of-place hotels and restaurants, hillsides filling with garbage and the loss of traditional culture. It makes you wonder if it is even wise to add to this burden by going there yourself. But you can try to be both culturally and environmentally aware when going there, as much as you possibly can with the modest facilities that are provided.

My traineeship is already continuing until mid-January because I got the Thailand vacation only after I promised to lengthen my traineeship by the same amount of weeks. They would like to keep me there longer but at the moment I am more inclined towards not working there long into next year. I would like to go travelling instead. I am a bit hesitant about traveling alone though. Not that I would consider it unsafe but because I’m afraid I might get bored. Eduardo and Tobias have been talking about going up north in February, just before Tobias leaves the country. I might join them at least at first. I’m fantasizing about going to the south at the beginning of next year when the weather is good there. Then I would start going up north as the heat builds up on the plains. When the heat becomes unbearable around April I would recede to the north. But that is next year and it is way too early to make plans about that.

August 29, 2006 - Posted by | Being a trainee, Pictures from India, Traveling in India

1 Comment »

  1. Hi Mikko,
    Lovely blog! Your writing skills are amazing! made me want to read all of it :).
    Keep it going man!!
    Shyam

    Comment by Shyam | September 5, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

