Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Random thoughts

Life is good here in Hyd despite the monsoon. It has been raining heavily and there are a lot of floods also in the state of Andra Pradesh. Just today I read in Times of India that Mumbai has been getting a lot of rain too recently and many people have died in the Maharashtra state. I’ve heard that Kerala (southern India) is getting some sun already so the rains are apparently moving up. Or something, it depends on who you ask.

Last weekend we had steady rain for about 48 hours and the place looked like a swimming pool. It was also very windy which you can always hear very well at the office. Last Friday the wind was making a huge noise again and I, together with Michael from Germany, went to check if there are any windows we could close. There were no open windows at the time, but a second later I saw one window glass falling out of its place, breaking onto the concrete window pane with part of the glass dropping down 11 floors to the street. Rain started coming in through the open window and soon the system administrator came to move the monitors (that nobody was using at the time) to a safe distance from the rain 🙂 I had to pinch myself and remind me once again that I was actually working in an IT company…

Today we had loads of power cuts. I think the company’s UPS systems are overloading due to the many new PC’s they have. Luckily my PC is plugged to a socket that is not suffering from these power cuts. My German and Colombian friends are not so lucky. They also don’t have anything to do there. There are eight foreigners there now and I’m the only one with something to do. Tobias got a task today but he was not at all pleased with it. I can understand his frustration.

I’m supposed to be finished with my task this week. I hope there is still work for me after that. I would like either to use some different technology for a change or do some kind of project management. I have not done any work with my Indian colleagues yet, which does not really match my idea of a traineeship abroad.

Eduardo’s colleague from work is getting married this Thursday and we are all invited. It sounds excellent. I’ve heard a lot about Indian weddings from Eduardo and others.

I might finally be able to fulfill my life long (!?) dream of movie stardom here. All AIESEC trainees and other foreigners in Hyd know a movie agent who goes around looking for Western people to appear in movies. He came to our flat last night and took our phone numbers. All four non-AIESEC German colleagues of mine already starred in a movie. A Romanian girl who is leaving tomorrow has starred in more than a ten movies already. We’ll see what comes out of that.

We had a great farewell party for Maria, Thomas and Simon in the downstairs flat last Saturday. We have a 10 minutes long video (shot and narrated by Simon) of some guy (we never really got who he is) calling the cops at about 2AM. The cops never came, fortunately. The movie is a lot of fun to watch but the concept behind is just depressing. Usually when cops come you have to bribe them to go away. Pike found a good article on-line about the corruption saying that the corruption is not only a problem on the level that it is usually identified with: the politics, government, big companies etc. It is a problem for the common man too since corruption is rooted on every level of the society. Bribing is considered a norm.

I will be going to Goa next week to see Jaana and some friends of hers. The Global Village has been postponed to Sunday but my train to Bangalore won’t leave until at seven so I should have time to represent Finland. Hope the weather is fine there even though I’ve heard it has been raining there recently. Just got email from Jaana. They will arrive in Goa on Monday morning. I’ll be there later that day. With Jaana there are Alex (Italy), Seth (South-Africa), Ana (Portugal), Hardy (Germany) and two Americans, Ben and Me. The plan: if sunny => beach, if not so sunny => Hampi (11 hours by train, a great place and many trainee’s favourite in these parts of India) or the local Portuguese villages. Sounds great! 🙂

I just heard from Pike about the car bomb in Colombo, Sri Lanka. Tomi had sent her a message from there saying that he is OK. That news is what I needed to get a good night’s sleep.

Bye for now, take care.

August 8, 2006 - Posted by | Being a trainee, Indian life

2 Comments »

  1. Hei Mikkis!
    Hauskaa lukea blogiasi! Hieno homma etta pystyt ja jaksat kirjoitella nain aktiivisesti. Voit kylla antaa sivuni linkitettavaksi aieseccareille, minusta ainakin oli tosi kiva lukea esim. Jaanan Ugandan blogia omaa harkkaa suunnitellessa. Blogin avaaminen tuntuu hyvinkin fiksulta vedolta nyt, ihan turhaa kayttaa aikaa siihen etta toistaa kaikille maileissa samoja asioita.

    Asutaan enaa noin 3 viikkoa perheen kanssa, joten yritetaan parjailla. Ja voi olla etta tata asuntoa ainakin tulee viela ikavakin 🙂 Valitettavasti mulla ei tosiaan ollut nyt mahdollisuutta toiden ja myohempien matkasuunnitelmien takia lahtea Goalle, mutta olis kylla huippua jos voitaisiin tavata jossain vaiheessa. Tuurehan on Delhissa jouluun asti, mun koulukiertueaikataulu selviaa intialaiseen tapaan aikanaan 😉

    Ollaan yhteydessa, kaikkea parasta Hyderabadiin!

    Comment by Tiina | August 9, 2006 | Reply

  2. Sounds cool. If you appear in a movie anytime soon, let us know and we’ll try to get a hold of a copy of it. Maybe you get a main part too 😉

    Comment by Tuukka | August 13, 2006 | Reply


Leave a Reply

