Murmeli goes India

An AIESEC traineeship in Hyderabad, India

Great Visa news + preparation related blabbering

I’m sure that everybody’s interested to know that I’ll be getting a one-year Visa!! After all the frustration, emails, calling and waiting weeks and weeks for documents I’m finally getting this thing done. The Visa should be finished on Thursday and I should be getting it by mail on Friday, latest on Monday next week.

Now that the Visa is sorted I can (need) to focus on other preparation stuff. I’ve been trying to come up with a plan on how to spend my last two weeks in Finland but I have not been able to come up with any strategy. I hurt my knee last week so riding my bicycle is not a very good choice as a pastime activity. I’ve been visiting a few people and reading a bit. I think I’ll still be spending a lot of time at my parents’ cottage. I’m sure I’ll miss this tranquility and greenness we have here while I’m in India. I’ll try to experience as much of that as possible before I go.

I will still need to get some money for the trip, traveler’s cheques in Indian Rupees and some cash in USD (I’ve read it is convenient to have some dollars with you there). It is not allowed to bring Indian Rupees into or out of the country. Also, I’ll need to fill my medicine bag and get some souvenirs/gifts to take with me to India. It is common practice that AIESEC trainees give presentations about the country of their origin so I’ll need some props for that. It is also common to have so called global villages where people present their home country using indigenous food, drink, clothes, music and so on. I want to be prepared.

I’m a nature person so I’ll try to visit Kerala in the very southern tip of India at some point. It is too far from Hyderabad for a weekend trip, I’m afraid, but I’m sure I’ll try to go there eventually. I would also like to see the mountains in the north but that will require a few weeks of time first to get there and then to spend there. India has the world’s second largest rail network and I’m sure that I’ll have to get used to making train trips several days long if I plan to travel in the country. There are also 100 domestic flights per day but they are not very cheap at the moment. (Culture Smart India) If I remember correctly, low-cost airlines have just started operation in India but the prices are not yet enormously cheap.

June 20, 2006 - Posted by | Leaving Finland, Preparation

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

